Learning Through Art 2007 | Guggenheim Bilbao Museoa
Past exhibition

Learning Through Art 2007

06.19.2007 - 08.26.2007

This summer the surprising artwork of 167 schoolchildren aged 6 to 12 who took part of the educational program Learning Through Art was displayed in a gallery of the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao. The program was initiated at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in 1970, created by Natalie K. Lieberman in response to the elimination of arts education in New York City’s public elementary schools. Learning Through Art is an innovative educational program in spite of its over 36-year history. The aim of the program is to reinforce primarily school curriculum through art activities. The valuable tool of art helps children explore the world and see things from a different perspective. The program breaks down barriers between school subjects, questions paths already taken, encourages children to see the world in a creative and personal way.

The primary schoolchildren are the true protagonists of this creative adventure. Together with their teachers, the visiting artists offer ideas for their projects. But the schoolchildren, with their excitement, energy and endless ability to surprise, reinvent the proposals, turning them around and coming up with unexpected solutions that capture their own individuality. The artists open doors, inviting the children to embark on a journey whose final destination they do not know. Every year Learning Through Art offers a different journey, an adventure where the boys and girls become explorers and creators of unique fantasies as they discover the joy of creating and the pride of showing their creative discoveries to others.

In Alava: Landazuri in Vitoria-Gasteiz. In Bizkaia: Mina del Morro and Intxixu in Bilbao, Unkina in Usansolo (Galdakao), Zaldupe in Ondarroa, Altazaga in Erandio and Altzaga in Leioa. In Gipuzkoa: Sasoeta-Zumaburu in Lasarte-Oria and Aita Iparragirre in Idiazabal.

Inés Cárcoba, Alex Carrascosa, Ibón Garagarza, Pernan Goñi, Iñaki Gracenea, Julio Hernández, Aiora Kintana, Manu Muniategiandikoetxea, and Jorge Rubio.